Is Anyone There?

You are probably asking that if you happened to visit The Cook’s Life over the past few months. I wrote a grand total of two posts in 2015 and this is the first post of 2016. I was all ready to get back into blogging when I got a new job.

Over the past five years, or so, I have been searching for my niche in the working world. I have been a nanny/babysitter off and on (mostly on) for the past 11 years. I have also tried my hand as an elementary school lunch monitor and a freelance writer. Then last fall I started a job as a part-time librarian for the St. Louis County Library.

I have been reveling in the best job I have ever had, no hands down. I love spending my shifts surrounded by books, and I am truly enjoying the patrons and my co-workers. I also continue to nanny the two days of the workweek that I am not at the library, so this blogger jumped right into full time working hours without much warning.

It has been an adjustment for all of us in the family, but most of all me. I need to get over the idea that I have time to do all the housecleaning, cooking and shopping. Not to mention keeping up with my various commitments at church and getting Calvin where he needs to be for school clubs and fiddle lessons. We have mostly figured out when, and how, to get it all done, but the blog has suffered.

I make no promises about frequency of posts. But I do feel the urge to write more often, so maybe I will manage to get something out into the ether every so often. I am already working on an update post about the kitchen. We did just a little more to it since I last posted. More to follow soon (I hope)!

16 thoughts on “Is Anyone There?

  1. Way to go lady! You are awesome!
    Glad you love your new job, and glad to see your posts again.
    Good luck with your newest juggling act! 😉

  2. Hi there!

    Glad to see you’re back, and can I say WOW at working in a library. Sounds like heaven to me. Looking forward to seeing new posts. Still cooking and baking here, so we may have recipes to share. Have you heard that KAF is pulling the plug on the Baking Circle on May 18? I’ve been part of that group since the beginning, I’ve met lots of those folks in real life, and I feel like I’m losing a whole lot of best friends. But life goes on…..

    Regards,
    Karen

    • Thank you! Some days I wonder why I didn’t pursue the library sooner, but all things happen in good time, I guess. 🙂

      Yes, I’ve seen the note about KAF’s Baking Circle. It makes me sad, but I can understand (a little) where they are coming from. It won’t make me miss it any less. I joined the FB group and will look into other ways to keep in touch. It is just finding the time! I joined when the BC was a few years old, but it was when my son was a toddler, so I have probably been a member for 15 years, or so.

  3. Hi Sarah, I couldn’t be happier that you love the library. I loved my years as a librarian at SLCL. I hope to follow your blog. I love to cook and bake.

    • Thank you, Maryanne! Loving it so far. I hope you do follow the blog – there are lots of recipes from years past. Poke around the archives and see if anything piques your interest. And then let me know what you make!

  4. HIIIIIIIIIIIII!

    Listen: blogging should only happen when you have the time to make it happen, and when you want to. I should know, because i maybe have as many posts as you do for 2015, and it’s been sporadic this year so far. I’m so stoked at your library gig! Wait…so which one do you work, because I will COMPLETELY come to visit. you know i’m a library junkie, and we just moved even closer to you so i’m crossing my fingers and hoping you’ll say your at one of the ones i frequent.

    • Hi Shannon! You have certainly posted more often than I have – I’ve seen your posts. 🙂

      I’m at the Mid County branch in Clayton. It’s not far from the Straub’s grocery that is on Maryland. I would love it if you stopped by sometime!

  5. Good to hear about your newest life goal. I will watch for your posts even if it is only on a “have time” basis. I always like recipes that have been Calvin tested.

Leave a Reply

