Deep Dark Chocolate Olive Oil Cookies

DSC_0032

My mind was wandering the other day as I was cooking dinner. I wondered if anyone had actually made any of the recipes I have on the blog. And then I thought about all the food blogs I read. I can probably count on one hand the times I have actually made anything off of them. I decided I needed to make more of an effort to actually make some of the recipes and then either blog about them or comment on them to the original poster.

I had been thinking about these deep dark chocolate cookies since I read about them on The Monday Box in early November. They are part of a post explaining the traditions behind Chanukah and the chocolate gelt that children traditionally receive during the holiday. Wendy, the author of The Monday Box, painted her cookies with edible gold glitter to resemble the foil wrapped chocolate coins.

I couldn’t forget her descriptions of the deep, dark chewy cookies. I had all the ingredients, so I decided to make them one evening. I cut the recipe in half. I do this a lot of times when I don’t want a huge amount of treats hanging around the house, tempting me.

It would have worked beautifully, except I somehow used the full amount of baking soda. Yes, baking soda is a leavener, which should make things rise. But if you use twice as much as you need, it makes things very, very, very flat. As in so flat that the mini chocolate chips in the batter were the high points. Note to self – don’t mix up cookies while you are doing two other things.

The flavor was there in the flat cookies, so I saved them to top ice cream sundaes and mixed up another batch. This time I was careful to pay attention. The cookies baked up into chewy, dark chocolate disks of deliciousness.

I got about 24 small cookies from the half batch – I made them about half the size of the original recipe. Next time I might make the full batch, but for now I am satisfied with the smaller amount of cookies. Those are the amounts I am posting in the recipe below. I did increase the vanilla extract. I like the added depth this gives to dark chocolate baked goods. Visit The Monday Box to get the full recipe. Or you can just double all the amounts listed.

Recipe Note:
I adapted the recipe from The Monday Box. She in turn adapted it from Something Swanky. I love the evolution of recipes as we change them to suit us.

Print the recipe here.

Deep Dark Chocolate Olive Oil Cookies
Adapted from The Monday Box
Makes 24 small cookies

6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
6 tablespoons natural cocoa powder
⅛ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon baking soda
1½ teaspoons hot water
¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
1 egg, room temperature
½ cup granulated sugar
1½ teaspoons vanilla extract
½ cup mini chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and lightly grease two baking sheets, or line with parchment.

Stir flour, cocoa powder and salt together in a small bowl. In a separate bowl, dissolve baking soda in hot water.

Beat olive oil and egg with an electric mixer until slightly thickened, 3-5 minutes. Add sugar and vanilla extract and mix until sugar is no longer gritty.

Stir in flour mixture until almost combined. Add dissolved baking soda mixture and stir well. Add chocolate chips to dough.

Use a small cookie scoop or a spoon to place dough on baking sheets. Leave room between the cookies for them to spread.

Bake cookies for 7-9 minutes, or just until edges are set. The cookies will puff up and then crack as they are close to being done. The tops will not look completely baked, especially inside the cracks.

Cool on pans until room temperature. Store cookies in an airtight container for several days. Freeze for longer storage.

10 thoughts on “Deep Dark Chocolate Olive Oil Cookies

  1. Sarah, I can’t tell you how many times I have attempted to make half of a recipe and neglected to halve one (or more) of the ingredients! When I am lucky I realize it at a point where I can just go ahead and make the full recipe. Other times I wonder why my efforts don’t resemble the original! Then there are the times the brownies are in the oven and I find unused eggs sitting on the counter…..uh,oh. 🙂 Its all about the adventure, right? I am glad that you enjoyed these chocolaty cookies!! Next time I make them I will try your doubled vanilla. There can never be too much vanilla, as far as I am concerned. 🙂
    I totally agree with you about cooking more recipes that I have pinned from blogs. My pinterest boards just keep getting bigger but my dinner menu isn’t. I am now trying to make at least 1 (I try for 2) pinned recipes each week. Maybe I will do better in 2014. 🙂

    • Don’t you hate it when you find something on the counter after whatever you’re making is already in the oven? It certainly is about the adventure!

      I have a hard time not doubling the vanilla in almost anything I make. My ideas of how much is enough have changed over the years. Probably a lot of it is influenced by my husband, who loves vanilla. 🙂

      I truly am going to start trying other bloggers’ recipes. I realized that I comment on so many posts with something about how I can’t wait to try the recipe, and then I never do. Maybe I’ll do a better job in 2014!

  2. My problem is that I cannot make up my mind about WHAT to bake. I’ll think of something and then start looking for the recipe. And there the problem starts……. Oh,that looks good, maybe I should make that.But let’s look a little further . Oh yes, there are those little one-two bites little cakes. I bought that cute pan for those, with the loose bottoms. Oh Arnhemse Meisjes, the ones Roald Dahl loved so much. Maybe those.
    By the time I am done with looking time to bake is long gone !!
    Maybe I will do better in 2014 also.

    • I do that all the time! I sit down with a stack of cookbooks, or start trolling the internet. By the time I get done reading recipes for beef stew or turnovers my time to bake dessert is gone. 🙂 Such is the life of a cookbook/recipe lover, I guess.

  3. Sarah,
    Off the top of my head I know I’ve made your hamburger buns, and they were delicious. I need to make them again, because I have a lone jar of green tomato bacon jam and I want to treat my spouse to burgers w/ the green tomato bacon jam *in* the meat mixture. Come to think of it, I have all the fixings for potato salad, too, so I think I’ll make a summer menu one of the nights of his holiday break.
    As far as other food blogger’s recipes–I’ve just mixed up the dough for Two Peas’ dark chocolate pistachio cookies, or at least the version I’m doing with the pistachio/almond/cashew blend that I have on hand. I like y dough to hang out in the fridge for a couple of days, though, so I haven’t baked them yet.
    After seeing so many blogger’s recipes for olive oil in orange cakes while doing my citrus recipe round up, I finally baked a sweet with olive oil (orange and date muffins, recipe coming but delicious and without sugar). I can see how this cookie would be very delicious (though my tendency to throw orange zest onto anything that is stationary in my kitchen would cause me to riff in that direction. Thanks!

    • You are the woman for actually making other bloggers’ recipes! And the summer menu is brilliant. Perfect for cold and snowy December days!

      Go for it with the orange zest. Let me know how they are when you try them! Or do a blog post on them and keep the recipes moving around the internet. 🙂

  4. Sarah, you have got to start paying attention! 😉 don’t we all do that, especially at this time of year: i made something…i think a bread thing…the other day and i was like, completely off: i actually have no idea still what i didn’t do correctly, but whatever: it’s the holidays. somehow we’re expected to bake more than usual while balancing kids and guests and meals and time off school and gift-buying. CHEERS to us for even being able to get up in the morning, i say.
    and i love that you made Wendy’s delicious cookies! Rest assured, people DO make things from our blogs; i just walked through someone the other day that was making something, so it happens. you may not hear about it all the time, but it does. 🙂

    • I honestly don’t know what is the matter with me lately! I need to take a break from the kitchen, or something! Not really, but I do need to be more mindful of what I am doing!

      Isn’t it fun when someone lets you know they made something of yours! I am trying to make a point of making stuff from other blogs, instead of just commenting that I can’t wait to make this or that, and then never getting around to it. It truly is a matter of making time to do it. Maybe I’ll be better about it in 2014!

Leave a Reply

