Roasted Red Peppers

DSC_0038Maybe it’s because we had our first hard freeze last night, but I am thinking about the last preps for winter now. We will take out the last of the garden tomorrow and put it to bed for winter. And I am working hard to preserve the last of the garden produce – peppers, tomatoes and basil for us.

Roasted red bell peppers are one of my favorites. And red peppers can be mighty pricey, summer and winter. When I can get my hands on a reasonably priced supply I buy several, roast them and freeze them for later. When I got the precious pepper bounty a few weeks ago from my dad and his garden, I did exactly that. Now I have a nice stash in the freezer, waiting for me to make roasted red pepper soup or to add to tacos or quesadillas.

DSC_0021

What are you waiting for? Get thee to a farmers market and check for last minute deals on peppers. Now is the time to stock your freezer for the winter. Or, if garden season is long past in your area, watch for sales at the store and snap them up.

Download or print the recipe.

Roasted Red Peppers
From The Cook’s Life
Yield varies

Red bell peppers
Cooking spray or oil

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a baking pan and set aside.

Cut down along the sides of each pepper to separate the flesh from the core, seeds and top. You will end up with 4-5 pieces from each pepper. Cut off any thick white ribs on the inside of the peppers. Place pepper pieces in a single layer on the prepared baking sheet, skin side up.

Roast for 25-30 minutes, or until the skins and edges are starting to blacken and the flesh is soft.

When cool enough to handle, remove the skins. Or leave them on, according to your preference.

Freeze in a single layer in a zip-top plastic bag. Thaw as needed.

6 thoughts on “Roasted Red Peppers

  1. So glad you posted this. I have a bunch of green, red & yellow peppers from farmers market.
    Was just going to clean & freeze them. Then, I read your post – Dah!! (Light bulb moment)
    Guess how I’m doing them now? Thanks again for the post and a reminder that I don’t just have to freeze them. 🙂 M

Leave a Reply

