Recipe in Progress – Peach Vanilla Muffins

DSC_0022

Part of the original intent of my blog was to give you a peek into my life as a cook, baker and lover of food. I spend a lot of time tinkering with recipes. Sometimes I am creating a dish for dinner at the last minute. And sometimes I am on my third, or fourth, attempt to make a recipe produce the results I think it should. Lately I have been working on a peach vanilla muffin.

I made my first batch a few weeks ago when I was cleaning out the fridge. I found some peaches I had cooked with a little sugar when they were starting to get too ripe. Which is a nice way of saying they were starting to attract fruit flies and were going to go from ripe to rotten in no time.

The container of cooked peaches somehow got pushed to the back of the fridge for a couple of weeks. When I found them, I had to do something with them or I was going to end up pitching them after all. I thought about muffins, but I didn’t have a recipe for peach muffins. I never let little details like that stop me.

I pureed the peaches and substituted them for the mashed squash in a spiced squash muffin recipe I found in one of my cookbooks. Then I proceeded to make so many other changes that the recipe’s only resemblance to the original was that it made muffins.

The muffins looked pretty – smooth, light orange tops that resembled, well, peaches. The peach flavor was subtle, but they were definitely peach muffins. They were too sweet, though, since I forgot to compensate for the sugar I had used when I cooked the peaches.

DSC_0005

I didn’t want to write a recipe that called for cooking the peaches first. I didn’t want to cook peaches every time I wanted the muffins, and I didn’t think anyone else would either.  I tried the recipe again with raw pureed peaches. The muffins were good. In fact they were darn good, but they still aren’t there. Now the peach flavor was even less prominent, though I had fixed the sweetness level. And the texture wasn’t as good as the muffins made with cooked peaches.

I need to do more adjustments, but peach season is almost over. I might have to put the muffins on the back burner until next summer. Stay tuned. I’m sure if I get tired of working with peach muffins, or run out of fresh peaches, I’ll move on to another recipe. I do have a chocolate doughnut recipe that needs work…

DSC_0028

4 thoughts on “Recipe in Progress – Peach Vanilla Muffins

  1. Sarah-
    I’ve been trying to find the perfect Peaches and Cream muffin…Starbucks has a great one though it is a tad sweet…but have failed miserably. So I will be excited to see your finished Peach Vanilla Muffins 🙂

Leave a Reply

