Three Ice Cream Recipes

Word has it that a three-day weekend is coming up. And word also has it that this weekend is the end of summer – the end of school vacation and of summer weather. Eh, not so much here in St. Louis. School started three weeks ago for most of the districts in the area. And summer weather will stick around for at least another month.

End of summer or not, I will still enjoy my long weekend, probably with a batch of ice cream or two along the way.

DSC_0001

Brown Sugar Cinnamon

DSC_0010

Chocolate Amaretto

DSC_0022

Mint Chocolate Chip

No need to turn on the oven to make dessert for any celebrations this weekend. And no need to spend time making a custard and then letting it chill. Most of my ice cream recipes, and certainly these three, start with the same easy formula – half and half and sugar. Add a few flavorings and a little freezing time and you are on your way to eating cold, creamy ice cream.

Whether you are ready to say goodbye to summer, or not, ice cream always helps.

13 thoughts on “Three Ice Cream Recipes

  1. Sarah,
    These photos have me drooling. I love half and half in my tea, so I’ve always got it around (or I am planning to go get some, because I can’t drink my tea without it). I’m glad to know my daughter will always have the raw materials to make me some ice cream!
    Thanks

  2. I’m gonna have to search your blog for all the ice cream recipes. The Chocolate Amaretto Ice Cream sounds delicious. I made a Mango-Coconut ice cream that hubby & son really like.
    Me, not so much. I think if I make a mango IC again, I’ll not use coconut milk. If you would like the recipe, let me know. M P.S. have a great loong weekend!!
    P.P.S. What brand name of cocoa do you use for ice cream making???

    • Please poke through the ice cream recipes. Hope you find one you like! I need to make the chocolate amaretto again – it was a hit and didn’t last long at all.

      I like mango, and so does my son, but coconut doesn’t often cross the threshold of our house. To put it mildly, none of us care for it. So I would love the recipe, without the coconut. 🙂

      I have been into Penzey’s cocoa for a few years now. It is darker and seems to be smoother at the same time. Before we found the Penzey’s, I usually used Hershey’s.

  3. i am bookmarking: for later, because sadly, i start my “i’m going to lose ten pounds before thanksgiving” workout plan today; i saw this post too late!!! but all of these sound wonderful, and quite perfect for the holidays. so, after i lose ten pounds or have given up trying. 😉

    • Seems like I’m always on that plan. Ice cream and other desserts are weekend fare for me. Unless I am having a bad week, then the dessert self-medication happens. I need to stop that! 🙂

      I like to make treats for a big crowd – then I get a taste and the rest is gone so it won’t tempt me.

Leave a Reply

