Roasted Green Beans

DSC_0008

I have been roasting green beans all summer, but I realized yesterday I had never shared the recipe. I thought I had better get the recipe posted before green bean season is totally gone.

I am always looking for new ways to make vegetables that my family will eat. They aren’t crazy about boiled or sautéed green beans, but they will eat them roasted. Go figure. It might have something to do with the Parmesan cheese I put on top. I think it also has something to do with the roasting. Roasting vegetables brings out the best in them, I think.

The hardest part about making the beans is snapping off the tops. Really. They take care of themselves in the oven. And then they are ready for the table, in all their caramelized glory, topped with a shower of snowy Parmesan cheese.

The only note I have is to be careful with the oil. The beans don’t absorb the oil like other vegetables, and if you use too much they are greasy. The recipe is correct – you only need a couple of teaspoons of oil to keep the beans from drying out.

DSC_0005

Download or print the recipe here.

Roasted Green Beans
From The Cook’s Life
Serves 4

¾-1 pound green beans
1-2 teaspoons olive or canola oil
salt
Parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wash the beans and snap off their stem ends. Spread the beans on a baking sheet large enough to hold them in a single layer. Drizzle them with the oil and stir to coat. Sprinkle with salt. Roast for 12-15 minutes, or until the beans are starting to lightly brown on the bottom. Stir the beans and return to the oven for another 3-5 minutes, until beans are tender and spotted all over with light and dark brown spots. The beans will shrink and shrivel quite a bit. Top with Parmesan cheese and serve hot. Leftovers reheat well in the microwave or a skillet.

6 thoughts on “Roasted Green Beans

  1. i ADORE summer green beans! I grew them in the garden last year, but they were a lot of work, although totally worth it. i love to roast them! and you’re right: too much oil and you’re in trouble, but these look perfect. I like the parmesan hit on them…nice sweet/salty combo.

    • Thanks! The parmesan gives them a nice nuttiness, but sometimes I like them just plain. And it made the photos much more challenging. 🙂

      I grew green beans a couple of summers, but I just don’t have the space to plant enough. And I fought with the rabbits too often to make them worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

