Bake your Bacon

DSC_0007

I know baking bacon is old news to some. But several people I have mentioned it to lately have never heard of baking bacon. When you indulge in bacon, the easiest way to make it is to bake it. It comes out evenly done and crispy, with almost no effort from you.

We have been baking bacon for the occasional treat for the last year and I don’t know if we will ever go back to cooking it any other way. It makes a few splatters in the oven, but so does roasting a chicken. Unlike the microwave, which requires lots of paper towels and washing out the microwave, or a skillet, which takes forever, needs watching and makes a mess, baking bacon takes almost no attention from the cook and makes minimal mess.

This doesn’t really even merit a recipe, but I’ll give you a method. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Cut the bacon slices in half – this will help them cook more evenly. Choose a baking sheet with sides that will hold all the bacon in a single layer. If the ends or just the edges overlap, that is fine. The bacon will shrink significantly as it bakes.

Bake the bacon for 15 minutes. Turn the slices over and return to the oven for 5-7 minutes more, or until it is as crispy as you like it. Some slices will finish cooking before others. Remove them from the pan to a paper towel-lined plate and return the rest to the oven to finish cooking. Trust your nose to let you know when to check on the bacon near the end of the cooking time – the minute you get a whiff of dark bacon, check on it.

Save any bacon fat you need for cooking – a tablespoon adds a nice smoky flavor to soup or potato dishes. Discard the rest of the fat in the trash after it cools a bit, wiping the pan with a paper towel to remove some of the grease.

What is your favorite way to cook bacon?

9 thoughts on “Bake your Bacon

  1. I would have never even though of baking bacon in the oven, I can’t wait to try this next time! Less mess (and not using countless paper towels in the microwave) is always a plus! 🙂

    • I like how I can bake the bacon while I am doing other things in kitchen. The microwave used to seem easiest, but it used so many paper towels, and then we had to clean out the microwave. And then it still smelled like bacon for another week. Let me know baking your bacon works for you!

      • Will do! And agree completely about the smell that lingers in the microwave, haha. So hard to get rid of!

  2. I cook very little bacon, but when I do, I do it in a frying pan OUTSIDE. I love the smell of bacon when I am frying it, but HATE it the next day. It lingers even upstairs. So outside it goes.

  3. You know I only found out about baking bacon a year ago and now, whenever I need a lot I always do it in the oven (if it’s just a few slices say for a BLT I will use the skillet to not heat the oven up). One thing I’ve noticed though is that it seems a little rubbery. I’m going to try your idea of flipping it though to see if I can get it nice and crispy. Of course my oven is so old that it could be part of the problem too but I’ll try any tips to get a nice pile of bacon.

  4. I’m a fan of both crispy bacon and bacon grease, so baking is the way to go for me. It’s much easier to scrape the cooled bacon grease into a container off a rimmed baking sheet than wipe it up off the stove top.
    Thanks, Sarah!

Leave a Reply

