Double Dark Chocolate Chip Brownies – Half Recipe

DSC_0013

This weekend I was almost totally uninspired in the kitchen. We had old standbys for meals and spent most of our time outside, working on house projects or just relaxing. I even read a book on the patio without thinking about all the chores I should have been doing, like I was on vacation. It made for a nice weekend, but didn’t give me much to write about this week.

I rarely go a weekend without baking some dessert, even when I don’t spend much time in the kitchen. This weekend I made double dark chocolate chip brownies. They go together in no time, though you wouldn’t know it from their deep, dark, decadent chocolaty-ness punctuated by melting pools of chocolate chips. I made a half batch, which made just enough for the weekend, with a few left for Calvin to take in his lunch to share with his friends.

I am working on a recipe for baked vanilla doughnuts, which meant I did make two small batches of those, in addition to the brownies. My experiments aren’t complete, but I hope to have the recipe ready to post later this week. That gives you time to pick up some doughnut pans while you are waiting. Though part of the testing includes baking the batter in muffin pans, so as long as you have those, you are golden. You won’t be able to make doughnuts, but doughnut muffins are perfectly tasty. The recipe is almost there – stay tuned.

In the meantime, whip up some brownies to enjoy while you wait. If you prefer to make a full batch, click here for the recipe.

Download or print just the recipe here.

Double Dark Chocolate Chip Brownies – Half Recipe
From The Cook’s Life
Makes 9-inch square pan, 12 brownies

½ cup (1 stick) butter, cut into pieces
6 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
½ cup all-purpose flour
¼ teaspoon salt
½ cup bittersweet or semisweet chocolate chips (I like Ghirardelli 60% cocoa chips)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 9-inch square pan. Set aside.

Melt butter in a large bowl in the microwave. Stir in cocoa powder until well mixed. Add sugar and stir again. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each. Stir in vanilla extract. Add flour and salt and mix gently until about half-mixed. Add chocolate chips and stir until there are no white streaks of dry flour. Spread in prepared pan and level top.

Bake 20-25 minutes, or just until the middle is set and a toothpick comes out with a few crumbs attached. Cool in pan on a wire rack for at least 30 minutes before cutting.

These are fabulous as is, but you can also microwave each serving for a few seconds to melt the chocolate chips. These freeze very well if you don’t plan to eat them all in a day or two.

4 thoughts on “Double Dark Chocolate Chip Brownies – Half Recipe

  1. Sarah,
    These look delicious, and I have everything I need to make them. Plus a couple of pints of Graeter’s (Buckeye Blitz and Caramel) in the freezer. I foresee hot fudge brownie sundaes in our future.
    I also appreciate the half size recipe because that’s something the kids and I will be able to enjoy, without having to eat brownies for days (oh, what a chore . . .) after my spouse leaves.

    Thanks!

  2. I made these brownies (full batch version) and did not comment on them. But, as this scrumptious photo once more has appeared in my reader, I felt compelled to tell you that these were the best brownies that I have ever made and it is true, they freeze wonderfully. They are so chocolaty, rich and oh so delicious, and now my mouth is watering just thinking about them! Thanks for not just this treasure, but all of your fantastic recipes!

Leave a Reply

