Chocolate Amaretto Ice Cream

DSC_0010

I was trolling though past posts yesterday, trying to think of some new things to write about. After looking at a few ice cream pictures I was in the mood to make some. The chocolate ice cream pictures were calling to me, but I wanted a new flavor. I remembered that Rich had requested a chocolate amaretto ice cream a while back. It is his favorite flavor to get when we go out for ice cream, but it is hard to find. After my experiments we may be going out for ice cream a little less often this summer. Who am I kidding? We go out for ice cream year round. And I have been known to eat ice cream in the dead of winter, wrapped up in a blanket to keep warm. At home. I don’t tote my blankie to ice cream shops. At least not yet.

This is a deep, dark chocolate ice cream, with undertones of almond. The amaretto gives it a little bite, but isn’t overpowering. I usually use about a tablespoon of vodka in our ice cream, especially in chocolate, to keep it a little softer in the freezer. The large amount of cocoa tends to make it hard to scoop and a little icy after a day or two in the freezer. The alcohol lowers the freezing point of the ice cream just a bit, so it stays creamier and more scoopable.

I figured I would swap in amaretto for the vodka this time. I upped the amount a bit because amaretto is lower in alcohol than vodka. I wouldn’t worry about serving this to kids, since there is less than two tablespoons of alcohol in the whole batch. It works out to less than ½ teaspoon per scoop, depending on how many scoops you get from a batch. The chocolate is pretty dark, though. There won’t be many kids who will enjoy it, though mine does. Vegetables aren’t always a go, but dark chocolate is always on the favorite list.

Rich gave this one an enthusiastic thumbs up. We are already planning a Black Forest amaretto ice cream cake for his birthday, which isn’t until late September. You never can start planning too early for these things, you know.

Do you eat ice cream all year, or only during warm weather?

Download or print just the recipe here.

Chocolate Amaretto Ice Cream
From The Cook’s Life
Makes about 1½ quarts

This is a deep, dark chocolate ice cream that might appeal more to adults than to kids.

⅓ cup granulated sugar
½ cup cocoa
dash salt
2 cups half and half
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract
1½  tablespoons amaretto liqueur

Stir sugar, cocoa and salt together in a medium bowl. Gradually add half and half, making a paste at first to get all the cocoa mixed in thoroughly. Add vanilla and almond extracts and stir until sugar is dissolved. Freeze in ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s directions – ours takes about 25 minutes. Add amaretto during last 5 minutes of freezing. Transfer ice cream to an airtight container and freeze for several hours before serving.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Amaretto Ice Cream

  1. I live 10 blocks from a Graeter’s so I eat ice cream year round. Do I make ice cream year round? No, primarily because I rarely have freezer space to store the container for pre-chilling. In fact now, at the tail end of ‘using up the CSA farm share produce I put up last year’ and before “putting up the CSA farm share produce this year” is the time when I could make ice cream.

    But I still live 10 blocks from Graeter’s . . .

    You’ve inspired me, though, Sarah, to figure out a use for the mini bottles of coffee and coconut vodka in the freezer–if I can put them into ice cream, I will.

    Thanks!

    • I just looked up Graeter’s and am drooling over their flavors. Wish we had them in Missouri! Guess I’ll just have to take them as inspiration for making new flavors of my own.

      Interesting to think about using flavored vodka for ice cream. Will you match the vodka flavors, or use them to add another dimension to a different flavor? Oh, the combinations you could come up with! I’m already thinking of other liqueurs I could use in other flavors. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

