Snowy Day Apple Crisp

DSC_0003

Yesterday we had a daylong spring snowstorm. They aren’t exactly unusual in St. Louis, but they aren’t a yearly occurrence either. We got almost a foot at our house, which is a lot for us.

DSC_0003

Rich’s mom was visiting from Florida and she said it was more snow than she had seen in years. My father-in-law had skipped the trip in favor of staying at home in warm weather. He was pretty much laughing at us as he played golf in the sunshine.

DSC_0002

Since we were stuck at home we planned a day of board games and baking. I planned to make an apple pie, vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce. Mary, Rich’s mom, wanted a hands on lesson in caramel sauce. I got the ice cream started and found a bag of already peeled apples in the freezer before a doozy of a migraine came out of nowhere and laid me flat for most of the afternoon. Feeling awful sent all thoughts of pie and caramel sauce out the window into the snowstorm. After I felt better I pulled together an apple crisp to go with the ice cream and we were all happy. There is no better therapy for me than playing in the kitchen, especially since everyone else washed all the dishes and cooked dinner.

DSC_0024

The picture of the crisp isn’t very pretty (so I’ll distract you with Rich’s pretty snow pictures).

DSC_0017

I had sweetened the apples with brown sugar and lots of cinnamon before I started feeling bad, thinking that would provide a nice contrast with light colored pie crust. When I made the crisp topping I also used brown sugar for the crumbs, which made the whole thing one color. When you make it, use white sugar in the filling and you will get more color contrast. Looks aside, it tasted fabulous. I still want apple pie, though. I might just have to make one in the near future to satisfy the craving.

What do you do when the weather strands you inside?

Download or print just the recipe here.

Apple Crisp with Brown Sugar Topping
From The Cook’s Life
Serves 6-8

The topping is pretty sweet – you may not want to add any sugar to the filling, especially if your apples are sweet rather than tart.

Filling:
3-4 large apples, peeled and diced
1-4 tablespoons granulated sugar, to taste
1-2 teaspoons cinnamon, to taste
1-2 tablespoons flour, if apples are juicy

Topping:
¼ cup butter, melted
½ cup flour
1 cup packed brown sugar
1-2 teaspoons cinnamon, to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease a 9-inch square casserole dish, or equivalent.

Mix apples with sugar, cinnamon and flour and spread in an even layer in greased dish.

Stir flour, brown sugar and cinnamon into melted butter until damp crumbs form. Spread in an even layer on top of apples.

Bake 30-45 minutes, or until apples are tender and topping is crunchy. Serve warm or at room temperature.

4 thoughts on “Snowy Day Apple Crisp

  1. Boy! I can almost smell that, all the way over in Florida! Whenever I make an ‘apple-y’ dessert, it reminds me of my Dad…his all time favorite was Apple Brown Betty. His second favorite was freshly baked, still warm apple pie, with heavy cream poured over, not a lot, just enough to mingle with the apple juices.

    Stay warm! Hee! In Ft. Lauderdale, we went from a high of 88F, this past Sat/Sun, to 55F, this morning….BRRRRHHHH!…lol!

    Laura ;0))

    • I have never made an apple brown betty. It is always crisp or pie around here. I like my apple desserts with a scoop of ice cream on top, and just warm enough for the ice cream to melt just a bit.

      Wow, 55 degrees! You’ll have to get your coat! 🙂

Leave a Reply

