Juice Jigglers

DSC_0011

I have a bottle of cranberry-grape juice that I bought to use in smoothies. Turns out none of us like that flavor in our smoothies. And none of us are juice drinkers, so it has been sitting in the fridge, staring at me every time I open the door. I kept trying to think of things to use it in, but I hadn’t found anything until today.

Calvin and I are participating in a famine awareness lock-in tonight at our church. The kids, and adults, try not to eat to get a slight understanding of how hunger impacts people around the world. Obviously we can’t truly understand, since we are only missing a meal or two, and we have abundant food available when we decide we are done. But it is an exercise in awareness. We are shopping for a local food pantry with money donated from the congregation and then we are heading back to the church for more activities and (hopefully) sleep at some point.

The organizer asked for people to bring jello and juice for snacks in case anyone gets too hungry. I am fine with regular jello, but it always tastes artificial (go figure, since it is). I wondered if I could use unflavored gelatine to make my jug of juice into finger jello snacks, otherwise known as jigglers. A quick look at the box of gelatine showed me that, yes, I could.

The original recipe called for an optional addition of sugar or honey. I figured that cran-grape juice is plenty sweet enough, so I added no extra sugar. You can use any kind of juice you like to make these, and other kinds might need a bit of extra sugar. I like the slightly less sweet taste of just juice, but add sugar if you feel the need. Taste the mixture before you chill it and see if you want the extra sugar or not.

I think my jigglers are pretty tasty. Here’s hoping the kids do too, or I’ll be eating them for the next week.

Download or print the recipe here.

Juice Jigglers
Adapted from Knox Gelatine
Makes about 80 squares

4 cups fruit juice, divided
4 envelopes unflavored gelatine
2 tablespoons sugar or honey, optional

Measure 1 cup juice into a large bowl. Sprinkle gelatine onto juice and stir to combine. Set aside.

Heat remaining 3 cups juice until boiling. You can use the microwave or the stovetop. I did mine in the microwave and it took well over five minutes. I think using the stovetop would have been faster.

Pour hot juice into gelatine mixture and stir until gelatine is fully dissolved, 2-3 minutes. Taste the mixture and add the optional sugar if you think it needs it.

Pour mixture into a 9 by 13 inch pan. Chill for 3 hours, or until set. Cut into small squares to serve. Store in refrigerator.

 

4 thoughts on “Juice Jigglers

  1. Sarah, this came to me in the nick of time ! I was decorating cupcakes for my granddaughters’ party this afternoon and just took a short break. Looked at my computer and there you were! I had an opened bottle of white grape juice that nobody would drink and used it for the jigglers. Now I am hoping that it will stiffen up before we have to go to bring the cupcakes.LOL.

Leave a Reply

