A Trio of Dinner Ideas

IMG_5460

I am in a bit of a dry spell, both in cooking and writing blog posts. I have been making a lot of old standbys for dinner instead of trying new recipes. This is well and good for easy cooking, but it doesn’t give me much material for the blog. I thought I would highlight a few past posts just in case you also need new dinner ideas. I can’t be the only one who is looking for inspiration. I am hoping that looking back at what I have cooked in the past will give me inspiration for the future.

IMG_5249

Citrus recipes are everywhere these days, which is fitting since it is the height of citrus season. We are lucky enough in our modern age to be able to get good citrus fruit year round, but it is truly best in the winter. I posted about citrus roasted chicken back in the summer, but the waning (I hope) days of winter are the perfect time to perk up your plate and palate with the bright flavors of oranges, lemons and limes.

IMG_4845

If you are in the mood for something different, try spuds and salads. You can get as fancy as you like when topping your potatoes, or you can keep it simple with butter and a bit of cheese. The same goes for the salad – go all out with winter greens and vegetables, or stick with simplicity. You can whip up the salad and potato toppings in the time it takes for the potatoes to bake, leaving you ready to sit down in no time.

IMG_4607

Or you can go the slow cooker route and try garlic pulled pork. Take a few minutes in the morning to throw everything in the pot and you will have tender, garlic-scented pork ready when evening rolls around. Pair it with simple sides, or pile it on buns and you are nine tenths of the way to eating dinner.

Where do you turn when you are out of inspiration in the kitchen? Recipe books, online, takeout menus or somewhere else?

6 thoughts on “A Trio of Dinner Ideas

  1. We made a big chart of many of our go-to meals, and we keep it on the fridge for inspiration. Since we try to eat locally and seasonally (which includes what we have frozen and canned from the garden), I often go to the fridge, freezer, or pantry and make something up based on what we have. Other food blogs are often a starting point too, of course!

  2. Sarah,
    I get inspired by whatever is abundant. Loads of veggies in the CSA farm share box, or that I’d put up during the season. Stuff on sale–marked down produce, amazing deals at the store, you name it. For example, my Monday night Aldi run during my son’s hockey game resulted in 4 boxes of pie crust (double crusts) since they were sell by mid-March they had them for 99 cents. 99 CENTS! So the drive back home had my mind spinning around and I decided on pasties for an entree, and a fruit pie using put up fruit in the freezer for a dessert. Since Pi day is coming up, there’s the post for it.
    Unless of course I don’t get around to typing it up since I’ve got company and sitting at the laptop is the last thing I have time for with guests. Until nighttime!
    Chicken was also on sale, so I’m off to investigate this chicken thing. Thanks!

  3. I like to think of those times as opportunities rather than ruts–you’re revisiting your family’s greatest hits! That said, I always find cookbooks enjoyable reading and usually end up with a list of recipes I want to try.

    • That’s a good way of looking at it! I do need to pull out some of my cookbooks. Unfortunately, most of them are baking and bread instead of meals. It would be easier if we could have cake and bread for dinner!

Leave a Reply

