Thanksgiving Traditions

I have done a lot of posts related to Thanksgiving lately, but if a food blog can’t celebrate a holiday that focuses a lot on food, who can? I know the meal isn’t supposed to be the main focus of the day, but let’s face it – it certainly plays a large part.

We don’t do a lot of innovation on our Thanksgiving table. We have the usual turkey, gravy, mashed potatoes and pie. We do have several kinds of stuffing, though. My dad likes to make cornbread stuffing, which is delicious, but he also likes it with canned oysters in it. You could say I am not a fan of that version. Really, really not a fan. Dad and my mom’s mom were the only ones who usually ate it when I was growing up. Rich likes Pepperidge Farm stuffing, with no extra anything – just stuffing mix, broth and butter. I prefer it with added celery and onion. One year we had four different kinds of stuffing to please everyone.

We have our Thanksgiving dinner early in the afternoon. I didn’t realize until I was in high school that a lot of people had theirs in the evening. I love having it early. It gives me the chance to eat the usual large dinner first, then at supper-time I can pick and choose what leftovers I want to eat before I have the highlight of the day for me – pie!

A couple of years ago I came up with a goofy little poem about how much I like pie:

I love pie.
Pumpkin, apple and pecan.
I love pie.
I like to make pie.
I like to eat pie.
I love pie!

I posted it that year as a status update on Facebook the day before Thanksgiving. I know it was silly, but I do really like pie.

Embrace your family’s quirks this holiday season – whether they include unusual flavor combinations, pie for supper or something really off the wall. Variety is the spice of life – though I think that usually refers to people, not stuffing, at least in other families.

What are your holiday meal traditions?

4 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Traditions

  1. Hi, Sarah! Happy Thanksgiving, to you and yours!
    I’d rather eat a yummy slice of pie, than cake, any day! The only kind I DON’T like are the floofy-fluffy-Cool-Whippy types. One of my favorite movie moments is the scene from ‘Michael’ where they’re in the pie restaurant, and Andie Mcdowell sings her ode to pie!

    As to stuffing, we almost always have had just an herbed cornbread, or white bread based stuffing. When I was a kid, Mom made it with chestnuts, which I love! My personal favorite is cornbread, with fresh oysters. Last year, my brother and SIL shared Tday with us, and my brother wanted to make this dressing/stuffing recipe he said he saw on Giada Di Laurentis’ program. It had eggnog, and provolone cheese. I don’t have ANY idea where he got it from, I couldn’t find any reference to it at all. It was weird, to put it mildly. I love eggnog, and I love provolone, but the combo, in dressing, left something to be desired. Something like normal dressing…lol!

    Hope all is well!

    Laura

Leave a Reply

