Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

I don’t fry things; in fact I have never deep-fried anything. Don’t get me wrong, I eat fried foods, but I am not a fan of working with large quantities of hot oil. I will do it one day, but when I do, it is going to be a doughnut, not a potato. Roasting potatoes that are coated with olive oil is about the closest I am going to get to making my own French fries. Roasted Parmesan potatoes will make you forget all about fries, and maybe even the rest of the meal.

You can’t get much easier than this recipe. Scrub and chop potatoes, toss with a little (or a lot) of olive oil, Parmesan cheese, salt, pepper and a little rosemary (or not). Spread on a baking pan, add a little more cheese and roast for 30 minutes, stirring halfway through. You end up with golden brown potatoes, crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. Another addition of cheese and you will be in potato eaters’ heaven.

Download or print the recipe here.

Roasted Parmesan Potatoes
From The Cook’s Life
Serves 4

4-5 medium potatoes (I used Yukon Golds, but any kind will do)
2 tablespoons olive oil
½ cup shredded Parmesan cheese (use the real stuff, not the green can), divided
1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary (optional)
Salt
Pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease a large baking sheet and set aside. Scrub potatoes and peel, if desired. I didn’t peel them this time. Cut potatoes into approximately 1-inch cubes.

Toss potatoes with olive oil, 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese, rosemary, salt and pepper. Spread in single layer on the baking sheet. Sprinkle with another 2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese.

Roast undisturbed for 15 minutes, then use a spatula to gently turn and stir potatoes. Roast for another 15 minutes, or until golden brown and crispy. Bake a few extra minutes if potatoes aren’t golden brown. Top potatoes with remaining Parmesan cheese and serve while hot.

6 thoughts on “Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

  1. This is my favorite way to make potatoes, and there are endless variations to try. Tossing with any one of the Penzey’s spice blends also make them special (Shallot Pepper, Southwest, Greek, Adobo are some of my favorites). Never did try Parmesan, though, and I can’t figure out why, because I put cheese on just about anything, LOL! The combo of parm, rosemary, cheese and breadcrumbs is also great on roasted cauliflower, too.

Leave a Reply

