Flourless Chocolate Cake

I tend to forget to do things if I don’t write them down. I know it is a product of having too many things to do and thinking about too many things at once, but sometimes I wonder about my memory. I promised a post on the flourless chocolate cake we made for Rich’s birthday and I am writing it before I forget again. That is not to say that this is a forgettable cake. On the contrary, it is a cake we will be talking about (and making) for years to come.

I have had flourless chocolate cakes that weren’t really flourless, cakes that were more like a slice of a giant truffle, cakes that were too dark and bitter and cakes that weren’t worth the calories. This recipe from Chocablog is none of those. It was just dark enough, just sweet enough, fudgy without being too dense and deliciously worth every calorie.

The original measurements were metric. I converted them to cups and ounces to make the cake easier to make if you don’t have a scale. I skipped the part mentioned in Chocablog’s post about adding some of the batter at the end and barely baking it. I wanted to make it easy to control the portions, so I baked it in 12 ramekins so we would each have our own little round cake for a serving. I also added vanilla, which I almost always use in chocolate recipes – I think it adds a depth that can sometimes be missing in chocolate desserts.

I thought I would be able to turn the leftover cakes out of their cups for freezing, but they were too fudgy (which is a good thing), so I froze the leftovers right in their cups. We haven’t eaten any of those yet, but I’ll let you know how they are when we do (which might be tonight – writing about them makes me want one).

We served the cakes with barely sweetened cream whipped just until thick, but not anywhere near stiff. We could have skipped the cream totally and just let the cake stand on its own, which is exactly what I did after the cream was gone.

Flourless Chocolate Cake
Adapted from Chocablog
Serves 12

This makes a very fudgy, decadent cake. Plan to serve it in the ramekins if you use them. If you don’t have ramekins or a spring form pan, you can use a 2-inch deep 9-inch round pan, but grease and flour it and line the bottom with a circle of parchment paper, or plan to serve it right out of the pan and count on a few less-than-pretty slices (they still taste fabulous!).

2 sticks (1 cup) butter
8 ounces dark chocolate (I used Trader Joe’s Pound Plus, dark)
3/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon cocoa
2 teaspoons vanilla
7 eggs, separated
1 cup plus 2 tablespoons granulated sugar, divided
½ teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. Grease 12 1-cup ramekins or 1 9-inch spring form pan, or grease a 2-inch deep 9-inch round cake pan and cut a circle of parchment or waxed paper to place in the bottom. Grease the paper and flour the whole thing. If you are using ramekins, set them on a cookie sheet to make it easier to get them into and out of the oven. Set your prepared pans aside.

Melt the butter and the chocolate together in the microwave. Stir in the cocoa and the vanilla. Set aside to cool slightly.

Beat the egg whites with ¼ cup sugar and the salt until soft peaks form. Set aside.

Beat the egg yolks with the remaining sugar until very pale yellow and tripled in volume. This could take up to 10 minutes, depending on how powerful your mixer is.

Using low speed, mix the chocolate mixture into the egg yolk mixture. Fold in the beaten egg whites by hand, to keep as much volume as possible.

Divide the mixture between the prepared ramekins or pour into the prepared pan. Smooth the top of the batter.

Bake the ramekins for 20-25 minutes or the larger pan for 30-35 minutes. When cake is done, it will have risen and the tops will look baked. A toothpick inserted in the middle will come out with fudgy, but not raw, batter. Do not over bake, or you will lose the luscious texture.  Cool in pans on racks. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Download the recipe here.

4 thoughts on “Flourless Chocolate Cake

    • The only problem is they are calling to me from the freezer. It would be so easy to go get one, especially since it would thaw in no time. Have to resist….

Leave a Reply

