Staycation Week

 

I have been neglecting the blog this week. My brother and sister-in-law are visiting and we have been busy catching up and playing tourists in our own town. So far we have visited the St. Louis History Museum, Penzey’s Spices, Vom Fass olive oil, vinegar and specialty liqueur store, Kakao Chocolate and Schlafly Bottleworks for lunch. We still have the Anheuser-Busch Brewery tour, a concert in the park at the World Bird Sanctuary, a movie and another restaurant visit or two before they leave for home.

Never fear, we are still getting in plenty of home cooking too. One night we had dinner here – cheese stuffed shells, a wonderful salad (that I had no hand in, but thoroughly enjoyed) and garlic bread (alas, not homemade – no time to bake this week), with homemade chocolate ice cream for dessert. I love that I can make ice cream with only five minutes of mixing and half an hour of churning while I do something else, like play a cutthroat game of cards with those nearest and dearest to me.

It has been a great visit so far, as always. Sightseeing is one thing, but the opportunity to spend time together really is what it’s all about. On that note, I should get off the computer and get ready for another round of games, or just sitting around, talking about nothing much. Here’s to fun, family and getting the best of my brother in at least one game this visit.

5 thoughts on “Staycation Week

  1. Oh, boy, bet you had fun and a wonderful taste experience at Vom Fass. I’ve had the privilege of visiting their store in Madison, WI, twice. The store is right next door to Penzeys on University Avenue. Don’t know what I like better – the scotch, balsamic vinegar or olive oil. Sure am glad I have huge kitchen cupboards for storage. You have a fantastic staycation.

      • I can relate. My son likes the scotchs, so I have an easy Christmas list from him.
        I found a very fruity balsamic. I’d love to just drink it from the bottle.

Leave a Reply

