The Best Laid Plans…

I had great plans for my day today. My list included spin class, running to the produce farm and the grocery store, making bagels, vacuuming, making stuffed shells for dinner and doing a load of laundry. Things took on a life of their own as the day went on.

I started the bagel dough after my workout, and left it to rise while I ran the errands. It ended up rising longer than it should have, since I took time to unload the car and eat lunch before dealing with it. When I opened the trunk I realized I had managed to set something on the peaches from the farm. Add “slice squashed peaches” to list. When I was putting the rest of the produce away, I found beets in the crisper that I bought at least three weeks ago to make pickled beets (I’m glad root vegetables keep). Add “cook beets” to the list.

I realized that we had absolutely no bread in the house – a rarity for a baker. Usually there is something hiding in the freezer, but no. Add “bake bread” to the list. I figured I was already in the kitchen, so one more batch of dough wouldn’t be too much. It wouldn’t have been, without the bagels, the peaches, the beets and the stuffed shells.

I plugged away at my list, trying to be as efficient as possible. During a break in the kitchen action I took a minute to put laundry in the dryer, only to find yesterday’s clean laundry. Oops. Add “fold laundry” to the list.

Oh, and did I mention spilling beet boiling water all over the kitchen? I always close drawers after I get what I need. Except today. When I was taking the beet pan to the sink to pour off the water the pan slipped, pouring magenta water into two (count them) drawers, down the front of the cabinets, inside a cabinet door, on the floor, on the counter. Add “clean up pink mess” to the list (at least I missed my shoes).

At the end of it all, I had a dozen bagels, one loaf of bread and 16 rolls (I doubled the bread recipe because I obviously don’t know when to stop), ready-to-eat sliced peaches in the fridge, pickled beets all for me (I’m the only one who eats them around here), two loads of folded laundry, a clean kitchen floor and dinner ready to go in the oven. The vacuuming will have to wait until tomorrow.

6 thoughts on “The Best Laid Plans…

  1. Sarah… will be along, shortly, to help consume your pickled beets! I love beets, in any form. I’ve had my share of days like yours, as well…gosh, if I spilled ‘beet-water’, in Mom’s kitchen here, we’d have to go with an entirely new color scheme…she’s got white cabinets, which seem to absorb any and all stains. Thankfully, I like magenta!

    • I have white cabinets too. Thankfully they wiped right off.

      Not sure I am generous enough to share my pickled beets. 🙂 I am rapidly working through my supply. I think another trip to the farm for more is in my future!

    • It started out as efficiency, and then turned into desperation as each thing took longer than I thought, and complications kept coming up. But it all worked out in the end! After I have days like that, where I can’t seem to stop, I look back and wonder how I managed to whirl through it all. Trust me, I am not like this all the time!

Leave a Reply

