Family Reunion Fun

I thought I should do a post on the family reunion that I alluded to several times in last week’s posts. I could use the words from church newsletters and society pages and say a good time was had by all, though the grammar check is practically yelling at me for that phrase. Everyone did have a good time, to put it in a more grammatically correct way.

We wished more of the family could have made it, especially those that were missing because of health issues. But everyone was there in spirit. Our next big get-together will be my cousin’s wedding in October when more of the family should be able to come.

I come by my love of cooking honestly – there were mountains of good food. Garden squash, zucchini, green beans and tomatoes. Ham, smoked pulled pork, pork tenderloin (it seemed to be a porky weekend), broccoli salad, pasta salad, peaches, strawberries, blackberries, blueberries, corn on the cob (a lot of corn on the cob), beer, wine and a wonderful sangria with every kind of beautiful fruit we could think of to add. In addition to the whole wheat bread, zucchini muffins, chocolate chip cookie bars and chocolate oat bars I made, there were Sally Lunn muffins, corn muffins, brownies and angel food cake.

Lest we sound like complete gluttons, all of this bounty was spread out over four days. There wasn’t much physical activity to burn off the calories, though. We pretty much sat around and talked, with a little bit of movement when the conversation groups mingled, or it got too hot to sit outside and we moved inside.

Three generations sharing good food and family stories – what more could you ask?

3 thoughts on “Family Reunion Fun

    • Thank you! We had so many wonderful dishes because of you and your family! You did so much work. We will have to split it up more next year. I forgot to get the recipe for the Caesar Lemon Pasta Salad. Send it to me and I’ll do a post on it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

