Unforgettable Chocolate Ice Cream

When Calvin and I experimented with mint chocolate chip ice cream last week, I really thought I had posted on chocolate ice cream the week before. I know we made it, and I know we ate it, but there were no pictures and no post on chocolate ice cream. I guess I was so dazzled by the deep, dark chocolatey-ness that I dreamed writing about it. Since we ate the first batch before I took pictures, I had to make it again. The sacrifices we have to make.

I like to keep ice cream as a quick to make dessert, other than the freezing time. I have tried cooked custard bases a few times, but they never taste as good as I think they should, especially based on the time they take and the amount of dirty dishes they make. I have settled on a base recipe we like, that is easy to change for different flavors. And it couldn’t be easier – stir everything together until the sugar dissolves then freeze in the ice cream machine.

I can never get enough chocolate, so I like to make a sundae with chocolate ice cream, hot fudge sauce and either crushed pretzels or crushed Oreos, if we have them. Bring on the chocolate! It is also just fine in a bowl, with no other adornments. How do you like your ice cream – plain, topped with everything under the sun, or full of mix-ins and swirls of fudge or caramel?

Chocolate Ice Cream
from The Cook’s Life
Makes 1½ quarts

This makes a deep, dark chocolate ice cream. You could reduce the cocoa to 1/3 cup if you want a milder chocolate flavor. Because of the cocoa, this ice cream does get a little harder in the freezer than some other flavors. The optional vodka will keep the ice cream a little softer and more scoopable, but feel free to leave it out.

1/3 cup granulated sugar*
½ cup cocoa
Dash salt
2 cups half and half**
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon vodka (optional)

Stir sugar, cocoa and salt together in a medium bowl.

Gradually add half and half, making a paste at first to get all the cocoa mixed in thoroughly.

Add vanilla and stir until sugar is dissolved.

Freeze in ice cream maker according to manufacturer’s directions – ours takes about 25 minutes. Add vodka, if using, during last 5 minutes of freezing.

Transfer ice cream to an airtight container and freeze for several hours before serving.

*Use ½ cup sugar for a sweeter ice cream. But try it once with less sugar and see how you like it. You can also use an equivalent amount of Splenda for sugar-free ice cream.

** You can use all cream, which will make a richer ice cream. Half and half makes a creamy ice cream, with a little less fat and without the greasy mouth feel you can sometimes get with all cream.

 Download the recipe here.

5 thoughts on “Unforgettable Chocolate Ice Cream

  1. I’m going to stop for half and half on the way home tonight. It was hot (for us) today – 78 degrees. Ice cream sounds great and this looks really easy.

Leave a Reply

