Remember the Dip We Had That Time?

I have a good friend who loves to host parties (they are always wonderful, and I’m not just saying that because she follows the blog!), and she almost always serves the best hot cheesy almond dip. I have asked her for the recipe many times, and she has given it to me many times, but I never actually made it until a couple of weeks ago. Not sure why I waited, since we love the dip and it is so easy to make. I wanted to make it for a game night a few weeks ago at church, and I couldn’t find the recipe. I had to email her and ask her for it for the umpteenth time, but she came through, as always. And she didn’t even give me trouble for losing the recipe yet again.

We took this to our game night and it was the hit of the refreshments. We only had a little bit left at the end of the night, despite eating quite of bit of it ourselves. That is probably an understatement – we both pretty much made pigs of ourselves. We liked it so much, we made it again to take it to a wine tasting and dinner a couple of weeks ago, along with our Black Devil’s Food Cake. The dip was a hit and we again only came home with a few bites left.

This is just about the easiest recipe, even if you have to grate the cheese, like we did when we made it. Be sure to serve this with water crackers or some other cracker that isn’t salty at all, as the dip itself is pretty salty. Not sure they even make them, but definitely don’t use salted sliced almonds on top, or it will be way too salty.

Almond Swiss Dip
from The Cook’s Life

1 8-ounce block of cream cheese – 1/3 less fat works fine
1/3 cup mayonnaise, light is fine
2 cups shredded Swiss cheese
½-1 cup sliced almonds
Water crackers

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine first three ingredients. Spread in a greased shallow 2-quart baking dish. Sprinkle with sliced almonds. Bake 25-30 minutes, or until top is lightly browned and puffy. Serve warm with water crackers.

Download recipe here.

4 thoughts on “Remember the Dip We Had That Time?

  1. Oh I love dips! Even tho I’m reading this at 7:45am (I know Sarah a miracle in itself) it sounds yummy. Can’t wait to try it.

  2. Yum! That looks delicious. We do a variation with bacon and toasted crackers for the top. I’ll have to try the almonds sometime – if I can get the family to give up the bacon!!

Leave a Reply

