From leftovers to frittata in a flash

I have wanted to make a frittata for a long time, but have never actually done it. Thanks to a couple of recipes I have come across lately and The Great Leftover Challenge issued by Danny’s Kitchen on his blog, I came up with my own frittata recipe.

We had cheese fondue last Friday night for family movie night (Back to the Future, if you’re curious). We had extra Gruyere and Emmentaler left over. I started thinking about scrambled eggs and cheese, but we have that all the time and it isn’t exactly exciting. Then I thought of a frittata for something different. I was already planning on roasted vegetables with pasta for one dinner this week, so I planned to make extra veggies so I would have some left over for the frittata experiment.

I wish I had done a frittata sooner. It’s better and healthier than quiche. And as easy to make as scrambled eggs, but infinitely more interesting. Rich gave it two thumbs up and Calvin gave it three (not sure how that works!). So here it is – Roasted Vegetable Frittata with Cheese.

You can see the sections that reflect our various veggie preferences.

Roasted Vegetable Frittata with Cheese
from The Cook’s Life
Serves 4

The cheese makes this plenty salty enough, you can always add salt at the table if you think it needs it.

1 tablespoon olive oil
6 eggs
¼ cup milk
3 cloves roasted garlic, diced or mashed
1-2 cups grated sharp cheese (I used Emmentaler, Gruyere and sharp cheddar)
1-2 cups roasted vegetables (I used leftover zucchini, eggplant, carrots and garlic)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Start an ovenproof skillet heating over medium heat and add the olive oil. Beat the eggs with the milk, garlic and about a cup of cheese, and pour in the hot pan. Stir gently and cook until the eggs are starting to set and are about half-cooked. There should still be liquid eggs. Add the vegetables and stir briefly to mix them in a bit. Sprinkle the top with ½-1 cup cheese and place the skillet in the hot oven. Bake until the eggs are set and starting to puff and the cheese is starting to brown, 10-15 minutes. Serve immediately.

Download the recipe here.

10 thoughts on “From leftovers to frittata in a flash

  1. Ah Sarah what a great idea for those roasted vegetables although I don’t know if any would have been hanging around in my house. And what a smart move on sectioning off the vegetables. I love peppers but my husband won’t touch them… you’ve solved that problem.

  2. Hiya, Sarah! Ahhhhhhh…Fritatta! A staple, in ANY Italian kitchen! Having grown up in one, I have both cooked, and enjoyed this, for years. My Dad’s favorite, from HIS childhood, was a very simple one, just eggs, and fried, either freshly cooked, or leftover, cooked potatoes, with onions/garlic. His mom cooked it in lard, not olive oil, but that was because they lived on a farm, and this was during the Depression, and with 9 kids to feed, I’m certain lard was way less expensive, and certainly much easier to obtain, than olive oil, especially in rural Western PA. Good, either hot, or serve at room temperature. This is also prepared in Spain, where it is known as Torta, very similar in preparation.

    • Great story! I imagine there was NO olive oil to be found in W. PA during the Depression. I imagine a frittata with eggs and potatoes was a great way to fill up all those kids!

  3. Pingback: The Great Leftover Challenge: Let the Voting Begin! | Danny's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

