Slice into Baked Potatoes

I know I just did a post on potatoes last week, but I like potatoes. I mean, really like potatoes. I could happily eat them every day. Not that I do, but I could. Rich prefers baked and Calvin prefers mashed. I like them any way I can get them, but I am always looking for variety.

The other day I wanted to bake potatoes while I was baking chicken, and I wanted something different than regular baked potatoes. So I made Sliced Baked Potatoes. I started making these a few years ago, when I got one of those packets of recipe cards in the mail. You know, the ones that want you to subscribe to the service that will send you so many recipe cards every month. I happily took the sample cards and recycled the offer. I don’t have the card anymore, don’t remember the actual recipe and don’t even remember what they were called. But, by any name, they are tasty.

Basically, you take several potatoes, one per serving, peel them if you like and slice them almost all the way through into thin slices. You have to leave enough uncut at the bottom for the whole thing to hold together. Unless you have knife skills extraordinaire, you are going to end up with some single slices. Not a problem. Just pile those in the middle of the pan and let them be crispy garnishes when you serve the meal. Or crispy treats for the cook.

You can see I cut some of the potatoes all the way through by mistake, and there is my pile of single slices in the middle.

Bake the potatoes, with a little olive oil drizzle, salt and pepper, until they are soft inside and golden brown and crispy outside.

Sliced Baked Potatoes with last week's Lemon Garlic Tilapia.

Sliced Baked Potatoes
from The Cook’s Life
Serves 4, easy to double

4 large baking potatoes
Olive oil
Salt
Pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Lightly grease a baking dish or baking sheet. Peel the potatoes, if desired. Slice potatoes almost all the way through, into thin slices. Leave enough of the potato intact so the whole thing stays together. Pile any stray slices together in the middle of the dish so they don’t burn. Drizzle a little olive oil over each potato and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake 60-90 minutes, or until golden brown and crispy, and cooked all the way through. Check any single slices about halfway through the cooking time and remove them if they are starting to burn.

Download the recipe here.

3 thoughts on “Slice into Baked Potatoes

  1. I make these too although one time I forgot they were in the oven & we had some really great potato chips(if it happens to you, just tell everyone that was your intent)! I don’t think my pictures came out as nice as yours did though. But one thing you might try if you like a little extra flavor is to mince some garlic, microwave it w/a few tablespoons of butter to melt & then brush that on top before you bake them. They’ve been a real hit with everyone who’s tried them.

Leave a Reply

